Archive events 2016

Upcoming events:  click HERE

January 2016

  • Thurs 7 Jan, 7.30 pm: Parish Meeting and meeting of Planning SubCommittee – info
  • Fri 15 Jan, 9 am – 2 pm:  Village Greens re-opens after winter break – info
  • Wed 20 Jan, 7.30 pm:  Hall Management Committee meeting –  info
  • Sat 23 Jan (new date), 11 am: New Year Walk info
  • Mon 25 Jan, 7.30 pm: Brief AGM, then “Travelling in Alaska with a Camera” talk by Adrian Langdon;  Gardening Club – info*
  • Wed 27 Jan, 12.30 pm:  Parish Lunch – £4 a head, two course lunch with tea/coffee to follow – info

February 2016

  • Sat 6 Feb, 7 pm for 7.30 pm: Cardinham Film Night: ‘The Second Best Exotic Marigold Hotel’, Cardinham Parish Hall, £4.00 per person
  • Mon 8 Feb, 7.30 pm: “Growing Orchids at Home”, Gardening Club talk by Wendy Simpson, Cardinham Hall  –  info*
  • Saturday 13 February
    • 10 am:  Coffee Morning, Millpool, in aid of Cornwall Hospice Care
    • 7.30 pm:  Quiz Evening, Jubilee Hall, hosted by David F – info
  • Sun 14 Feb, 4 pm: Valentine’s Day Cafe Church, with chocolate fountain and chocolate heart hunt, Cardinham Parish Hall
  • Sat 20 Feb, 9 am – 11 am:  Cardinham Breakfast, Cardinham Parish Hall, choice of Continental or Full English
  • Sat 27 Feb: Young Farmers Dung Run, in aid of Cornwall Air Ambulance and Defibrillator in Mount ~ info

March 2016

  • Wed 2 March, 7.30 pm:  Jubilee Hall Management Committee AGM, all welcome; incl. elections of officers  – info
  • SNIP christianity debateFri 11 March, 7.30 pm:  ‘Pals’ – a story from the trenches  –  a Carn to Cove performance – info
  • Sat 12 March, 7 pm for 7.30 pm: Cardinham Film Night: ‘The Lady in the Van’, Cardinham Parish Hall, £4.00 per person
  • Mon 14 March, 7.30 pm:  ‘Butterflies in Cornwall’, Gardening Club Talk, Cardinham Parish Hall –  info*
  • Wed 16 March, evening, 7 pm, Jubilee Hall: ‘Has Christianity had its Day?’ – a debate organised by church and chapel, open to all – info
  • Wednesday 23 March
    • 12.30 pm: Parish Lunch – £4 a head, two course lunch with tea/coffee to follow  – info
    • 7.30 pm:  “Mines and Miners in Cornwall” – a History Group talk by Iain Rowe, County Records Office – info
  • Fri 25 March, 7 pm:  Good Friday – Millpool Chorale Concert, Mount Chapel

 

April 2016

  • Fri 1 April, 7.30 pm:  Skittles Evening  –  £5 per team of four –  licensed bar, pasties, tea, coffee … –  infoorganconcert2016
  • Thursday 14 April:
    • 7.30 pm: Parish Meeting Annual General Meeting, election of officers and of  Planning SubCommittee, and consideration of a planning application – info
    • 7.30 pm: Camhayle Theatre Club’s ‘East of the Sun and West of the Moon’, Cardinham Hall, £7.40 incl light supper – tickets 01208 821303
  • Saturday 16 April:
    • 8.30 am to 10.30:  Millpool’s Big Breakfast, community room, Millpool Methodist Church, supporting Cornwall Hospice Care, £5 for full English
    • 7 pm for 7.30 pm start – Chilli and Quiz Evening, Cardinham Parish Hall, teams of four, chilli (or lasagne veggie option), baked spud, salad, tea/coffee – £7 per person incl food – organised by Cardinham Sports Club
  • Wed 20 April, 7.30 pm:  Extraordinary Meeting of Hall Management Committee and first AGM of ‘Warleggan Jubilee Hall Trust’ –  info
  • Thurs 21 April, 7.30 pm:  Cardinham Bonfire & BBQ, Foredowns, celebrating Queen’s 90th birthday – starts 7.30 pm with a barbecue –  Warleggan parishioners are invited to join them –  see posters for details
  • Friday 22 April:
    • 6.30pm:  YFC Fish and Chips Evening, London Inn – info
    • 7 pm:  Organ Recital, by Jonathan Delbridge – St Bartholomew Church, Warleggan – limited seats; tickets from Gill 01208 821494 –  info
  • Wed 27 April, 7.30 pm: “Daphne du Maurier” – a talk by Lynn Goold, Fowey  -History Group – info
  • Fri 29 April: Gardening Club Coach trip to Toby Buckland’s Garden Festival at Powderham Castle. Coach and entry £20 pp. Non-members welcome. More details contact Loveday 01208 821350  – info*
  • Saturday 30 April:
    • 10 am: Drop in for coffee & cake, Cardinham Parish Hall  – find out about hall extension. (Their application for Lottery funding was turned down, but they’re going to start the project with the money they have; looking to the community for any time or skills to help with this project.)
    • 7 pm for 7.30 pm: Cardinham Film Night: ‘Suffragette’, Cardinham Parish Hall, £4.00 per person

 

May 2016

  • Thurs 5 May, 7 am to 10 pm:  Police and Crime Commissioner Elections
  • Fri 13 May, 7.30pm: Quiz Evening, Syd’s Bar, Bodmin, ~  Sarah raising money for Mount defibrillator  – arrive 19.30 for a 20.00 start;  £3 per person;  Teams of 4;  Prize for the winning team;  Raffle… – info
  • Sun 15 May, 1 pm:  Cardinham Sports Club Cycle Ride, sets off from Guineaport gate in Wadebridge, 1pm;  all welcome;  will head towards Wenford Bridge  – info*
  • Wednesday 18 May:
    • 1 pm:  Gardening Club Visits – to Hidden Valley, Treesmill (nr Fowey) at 1pm, then Marsh Villa, Par at 3pm  – info*
    • CANCELLED  EU – IN or OUT? a referendum debate CANCELLED, due to concerns very few people had expressed both interest and availability to attend.  But note that there will be a similar event in St Neot, 7th June – details below.
  • Sat 21 May, 10 am:  Plant Sale, plus cakes, bric-a-brac, stalls, refreshments, and raffle with great prizes  – info
  • Wednesday 25 May
    • 12.30 pm:  Parish Lunch – £4 a head, two course lunch; tea/coffee to follow – info
    • 6.30 pm:  Guided Tour of Liskeard – history group – info
  • Thurs 26 May, 7.30 pm:  Parish Meeting, and meeting of planning sub-committee – info
  • Sun 29 May, 6 pm:  Oak Apple Day, St Neot – gather at 5.45

 

June 2016

  • Thurs 2 June, 7.30 pm: Warleggan Jubilee Hall Trust (hall management) meeting –  info
  • Tues 7 June, 7 pm: EU debate, St Neot Village Institute –  with Andy Merrett-Jones chairing, Charles Boney presenting the Remain side, and David Lucas presenting the Exit side
  • Sun 12 June, Queen’s 90th celebrations, with…
    • 2 pm – 4.30 pm: Tea / light refreshments, Jubilee Hall, Mount
    • 6 pm: Service of Praise & Thanksgiving, St Bartholomew’s Church, Warleggan
  • Mon 13 – Sun 19 June, 10am – 4pm: Display of local events in Queen’s lifetime, St Meubred’s Church, Cardinham
  • Sat 18 June, 10am – 2pm: St Meubred’s Church tower open, Cardinham, with tea cakes and stall
  • hist-jun2016Sunday 19th June
    • 9.30: Joint Anglican/Methodist informal communion service, St Meubred’s Church, Cardinham
    • 3 pm:  St Neot Carnival & Parade;  St Neot;  games, BBQ, refreshments
    • 7 pm: Down the Decades Variety Concert, Millpool Methodist Church
  • Wed 22 June, 6.30 pm: Guided Tour of Wesley Cottage & Altarnun Village, History Group –  info
  • Thurs 23 June, 7 am – 10 pm:  EU Referendum
  • Sat 25 June, from 2 pm:  Cardinham Sports Clubhouse Day, with maintenance & cleaning, meeting and BBQ  – info*

 

July 2016

  • bigdo snip-BSat 16 July, 10 am – 12.30 pm:  Coffee Morning, Jub Hall, cake stall, pasties, raffle, bric-a-brac, etc.  in aid of Macmillan (cancer care)
  • Mon 18 July, 7.30 pm: Warleggan Jubilee Hall Trust (hall management) meeting –  info
  • Saturday 23 July:
    • 12.00 – 4.30 pm:  Big Do in the Field 2016 – in field opposite Jubilee Hall – children’s fancy dress, races, dog show, bouncy castle, BBQ, cream teas, licensed bar, etc, etc;  with Annual Vegetable, Flower and Handicraft Show in the hall –  info
    • 7 pm: Callington Community Gospel Choir in Concert, St Meubred’s Church, Cardinham – lucky number tickets £7.50 – bring picnic to eat in churchyard beforehand if you wish  – contact Libby 01208 821303 or Loveday 821350
  • snip hist-meet-jul2016Wed 27 July, 7 pm:  Recording the Graves, St Bartholomew’s, History Group – info
  • Sun 31 July, from 1 pm:  Croquet afternoon, St Neot Cricket Ground – info*  (new date)

 

August 2016

  • Wed 10 Aug, 7.30 pm:  Parish meeting and meeting of planning subcommittee  –  info
  • Fri 12 Aug, 7 pm:  Sankey Evening, Mount Chapel, all welcome, chaired by Kevin Grant, with organist Martin Michell – info
  • Sun 14 Aug, 4 pm: Pets Thanksgiving Service, Cardinham Parish Hall Grounds ~ bring your pets for a short service of Thanksgiving; Coffee & Cakes in the Hall after the Service
  • Saturday 20 August
    • 7 pm for 7.30:  Film Night: “What We Did on Our Holiday”, Cardinham Parish Hall, £4;  cheesy chips, tea/coffee etc.
    • 7.30 pm: 1950’s Themed Disco, Bodmin Rugby Club, organised by Sarah ~ her final fund-raising activity for Mount defibrillator ~ tickets £5 ~ raffle, etc.
  • Sun 21 Aug, 3 pm -5.30 pm: Garden Tea Party, the Old School House, Cardinham ~ cream teas and stalls; in Cardinham Parish Hall if wet; in aid of St Meubred’s Church
  • Wednesday 24 August:
    • 12 noon: St Bartholomew’s Day Church picnic and clean-up ~ bring a picnic, and tools for clearing up hedges, paths, etc. etc.  –  all welcome ~ info
    • 7.30 pm: Warleggan Jubilee Hall Trust (hall management) meeting –  info

September 2016

  • Sat 3 Sept, 2 pm:  40th Annual Flower and Vegetable Show, Cardinham Parish Hall
  • Sunday 4 September:
    • 4 pm: Church Fete, Jubilee Hall ~ Cream Teas, Raffle, Cake Stall, etc… ~ info ~ followed by, if you wish to stay for it:
    • 6 pm: “Music in the Meadow”, Bodmin Town Band with Supporting Artistes  ~ Jubilee Hall ~ soup & rolls, raffle   ~ info
  • Sat 24 Sept, 7 pm for 7.30:  Film Night: “Eddie the Eagle”, Cardinham Parish Hall, £4;  cheesy chips, tea/coffee etc
  • Wednesday 28 September:
    • 12.30 pm:  Parish Lunch – £4 a head, two course lunch with tea/coffee to follow – info
    • 7.30 p.m.  “Royal Cornwall Show” – a talk by Chris Riddle, the Show Secretary, ~ History Group (all welcome) –  info

 

October 2016

  • Sun 2 Oct, 10.30 am for 11 am: Vintage Road Run, organised by Warleggan Young Farmers – info
  • Thurs 6 Oct, 11 am – 7 pm:  Hole Cross Fundraiser, Hole Cross, Mount ~ all day refreshments, raffle every hour, craft stalls, aloe vera ~ raising funds for a spinal stroke aid for Jan Bolitho
  • Sat 8 Oct, 7 pm: Cardinham Sports Club Skittles Evening, SWEB club,  Bodmin, £1 a head, children free, all welcome  – info*
  • Monday 10 October:
    • 7.15 pm: Chapel Harvest Festival & Auction, Mount Chapel  – info
    • 7.30 pm: Warleggan Young Farmers New Members Evening, Jubilee Hall  – info
  • Fri 14 Oct, 7.30 pm:  Skittles Evening  – pasties, tea, coffee available –  no licensed bar (bring your own drinks if you wish)  –  info
  • Thurs 20 Oct, 7.30 pm:  Parish Meeting and meeting planning sub-committee  – info
  • Wed 26 Oct, 7.30 pm: “Sir Goldsworthy Gurney” – an illustrated presentation on this great Cornish inventor by Duncan Paul Matthews ~ History Group (all welcome) –  info
  • Fri 28 Oct, 7 pm:  Halloween Beetle & Bingo, Cardinham Parish Hall

 

November 2016

  • Wed 2 Nov, 7.30 pm:  Hall Management Meeting  – info
  • Thurs 3 Nov, 7.30 pm: Meeting  of parish meeting’s planning sub-committee  – info
  • Fri 11 Nov, 7.30 pm:  Contemporary Folk Duo: Gareth Lee & Annie Baylis, supported by Carn to Cove – info
  • Sat 12 Nov, 7 pm:  Fish & Chip Quiz, Cardinham Parish Hall, £8 includes fish/chips;  must book with Julie 821227 latest by 7 November.
  • Sun 13 Nov, 2.30 pm: Memorial Service, Mount crossroads
  • Mon 14 Nov, 7.30 pm:  “Being an RHS Judge”, Cardinham Parish Hall, Gardening Club presentation, with Dan Flynn
  • Sat 19 Nov, 7 pm for 7.30:  Film Night: “Jungle Book”, Cardinham Parish Hall, £4;  cheesy chips, tea/coffee etc.
  • advent-bazaar2016Wednesday 23 November:
    • 12.30 pm: Pre-Christmas Parish Lunch – £6 a head, two course lunch, choice of desserts, with tea/coffee to follow – info
    • 7.30 pm: “The Building Stone, Rocks & Minerals of Southern Bodmin Moor” – a talk by Martin Eddy, geologist ~ History Group (all welcome) –  info
  • Sat 26 Nov, 10 am – 12 noon – Church Advent Bazaar, Jubilee Hall – anything saleable—or edible—will be most gratefully received; plus the usual stalls, raffle, etc. and pasties –  info
  • Wed 30 Nov, 7.30 pm: What to do if heart attack – Defibrillator introduction and training, Jubilee Hall –  open to all, please come along – it could help you save a life  – info

 

December 2016

  • Saturday 3 December:
    • 10 am – 12.30 pm: Christmas Fayre, Mount Chapel – cake stall/ pasties/ tea / coffee, etc.  – info
    • 10 am – 4 pm: Santa’s Grotto at Carnglaze Caverns; organised by Warleggan Young Farmers  – info
  • Sun 4 Dec, 10 am – 4 pm: Santa’s Grotto at Carnglaze Caverns (second day); organised by Warleggan Young Farmers  – info
  • Wed 7 Dec, 7.30 pm: Defibrillator introduction and training, Jubilee Hall –  open to all, please come along – it could help you save a life  – info
  • Fri 9 Dec,  2.30 – 4 pm:  Christmas Fayre, Cardinham School – all welcome
  • Sat 10 Dec,  serving 9 am – 11 am:  Breakfast at Cardinham Hall
  • Mon 12 Dec, 7.30 pm:  ” Arrangements and Decorations for Christmas using Foliage”, Cardinham Parish Hall, Gardening Club presentation, with Fiona Hammond
  • Tuesday 13 December:
    • 2 pm and 4 pm:  Cardinham School Nativity, St Meubred’s Church
    • 7 pm: United Parish Carol Service, St Bartholomew Church, followed by mince pies and mulled wine, Chykest, hosted by Young Farmers – info
  • Thurs 15 Dec, 7.30 pm:  Parish Meeting and meeting of planning sub-committee –  info
  • Sun 18 Dec, 11 am:  Christmas Service at Mount Chapel   info
  • Sat 24 Dec, 6.30 pm: Candlelight Service of Carols, St Bartholomew Church, followed by mince pies and mulled wine, Chykest – info
Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: