Archive events 2014

Upcoming events:  click HERE

January 2014

  • Thurs 2 Jan:  New Year’s Day Walk, organised by History Club, followed by light lunch at Hall – info
  • Tues 7 Jan, 7.30pm:  Hall Management Committee Meetinginfo
  • Sat 11 Jan, 7pm:  “It’s Your Round” ~  A Pub Quiz with a Difference info
  • Fri 17 Jan:  Village Greens re-opens following Christmas / New Year break –  info
  • Fri 24 Jan, 7.30pm: Quiz and Pasty Supper, Millpool Community Room, all for £5 a head
  • Tues 28 Jan, 12.30pm:  Lunch Club, £4 a head, two course lunch with tea/coffee to follow, Jubilee Hall  – all welcome, but you MUST book in advance –  call Gill on 01208 821494
  • Fri 31 Jan, 7pm:  Skittles Bash, informal meet, anyone welcome to have a go;  organised by a few of us –  might be useful preparation for next month’s “Skittles Evening”

 

February 2014

  • Mon 10 Feb, 7.30pm, Cardinham Parish Hall: Gardening Club AGM and Talk by Claire Woodbineinfo*
  • Fri 21 Feb, 7.00pm, Jubilee Hall:  Skittles evening, with pasties, snacks, licensed bar –  £5 per team of four –  to book your place (whether as a team, or as an individual wanting to form a team on the day), call Jasmina 01208 821223  (see photos from our last skittles evening, Sept. 2013)
  • Tues 25 Feb, 12:00 & 1pm: Pilates –  see info
  • Tues 25 Feb, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:   Hall Committee Annual General Meeting (AGM), followed by regular meetinginfo

 

March 2014

  • Saturday 1 March ~ three events:
    • 10.30am to 12.30pm, Cardinham Parish Hall:  Table Top Sale, tables at £5 –  call Libby 821303
    • Warleggan Young Farmers Dung Run,  £1.50 per bag  – full info
    • 7.30pm, St Neot Vill Hall, Galapagos Islands Talk & Slide Show, with Arthur Boyt, sponsored by Loveny Male Voice Choir
  • Sat 8 March: 10 am to 12 noon, Cardinham Parish Hall:  Coffee Morning – Gardening Queries, with George Kestell of Radio Cornwall and friends; chat on gardening, plants, books, tea/coffee etc., raffle –  in aid of Perennial*  – see poster –>
  • Mon 10 March, 7.30pm, Cardinham Parish Hall: Gardening Club Talk – “Propagation” by Alistair Rivers  –  info*
  • Saturday 22 March ~ two events:
    • 10.30am to 1.30, Cardinham Parish Hall:  Spring Book Sale, tables at £5 –  call Libby 821303
    • 7 for 7.30pm, Cardinham Parish Hall:  Film Night – “Philomena”, £4 entry
  • Wednesday 26 March ~ two events:
    • 12.30pm: Lunch Club  – NOTE THE CHANGE OF DAY!!!    – £4 a head – MUST book in advance –  info
    • 7.30pm: History Club AGM & talk ‘Stop the Rot’  – info
  • Fri 28 March, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall: Lessons in Love, a Carn to Cove production – info
  • Sat 29 March, 7pm, Cardinham Parish Hall:  Beetle and Bingo
  • Sun 30 March, 9.30am: Holy Communion for Mothering Sunday, St Bartholomew’s Church – info

 

April 2014

  • Thurs 10 April, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall: Warleggan Parish Meeting AGM info
  • Sat 12 April, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall: Quiz Nightinfo
  • Tues 15 April, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall: Hall Management Meeting info
  • Fri 18 April: Good Friday Services: St Bartholomew Church (3pm) info;  ~ and Mount Chapel (7.15pm) –  info
  • Sat 19 April, 8.45am (approx) onwards: Motor Cycling Club’s Land’s End Trial – motorcycles coming in from Pantersbridge side, planning to include Warleggan Hill (Newland Hill)
  • Sun 20 April: Easter Day Services: Mount Chapel, 11am –  info;  ~ and St Bartholomew Church (3pm) info
  • Tues 22 April: Funeral, Elizabeth B.: Mount Chapel, 1.30pm, then crematorium 2.30pm;  followed by gathering at Jubilee Hall.  No flowers please;  donations welcome, to Alzheimer’s Society.
  • Wed 23 April, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall: History Club “Remembering the men of the Parish who served in the First World War” – info
  • Saturday 26 April:
    • 10am – 12 noon: St Neot Scouts Group Plant Sale, St Neot Playing Field
    • 7pm: Quiz & Chilli Evening, Cardinham Village Hall, organised by Cardinham Sports Club, £6 per person, BYOB, max 4 per team, must book in advance 01208 821591

 

May 2014

  • Sat 10 May, 8.30 – 11am, Millpool: Big Breakfast –  booking Shirley, 821186
  • Saturday 17 May:
    • 10am – 12.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  Mount Chapel Annual Plant Sale, with tea, coffee, pasties and cakes on sale
    • 7pm for 7.30pm, Cardinham hall, Film Night: “We Bought a Zoo”, £4 a head, refreshments, cheesy chips, raffle
  • Sun 18 May, 11am:  Mount Chapel Messy Church –  info
  • Thurs 22 May (all day), Jubilee Hall:  European Elections
  • Tues 27 May, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  Parish Meeting info
  • Wed 28 May, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  History Club Talk – Cornish Music info
  • Thurs 29 May, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  Hall Management Meeting – info

 

June 2014

  • [5, 6 & 7 June 2014: Royal Cornwall Show –info* ]
  • Fri 6 June – Village Greens CLOSED today (for Royal Cornwall Show) – info
  • Wed 11 June, 12.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  Parish Lunch, £4 a head, booking essential info
  •  Sat 14 June, 10am – 12 noon: Coffee Morning, stalls, raffle, cakes –  Cardinham Village Hall
  • Fri 20 /Sat 21 June: Celebrating Cardinham History, Cardinham – Friday Cardinham school pupils look at history of church, and prepare exhibition, concert etc; then Saturday church open to all, guided tours, morning coffee and  light lunches served at church
  • Wed 25 June, 7pm:  History Club Guided Walk in Lostwithiel – all welcome –  info
  • Sat 28 June, 10am – 1pm:  Garage Sale, Ingleside, Mount – info

 

July 2014

  • Sun 6 July, 7pm, St Meubred’s Church, Cardinham: Mousehole Male Voice Choir* with  guest appearance of the Buccas Four* – charity event for Macmillan Cancer Support  – £7.50 on the night,  or £7 pre-booked – contact Mike on 01208 821491, or the Blisland Shop.
  •  Thurs 10 July, 7.30pm: Big Do Planning Meeting  – all welcomeinfo
  • Friday 11 July:
    • St Neot & Cardinham Pre-School Open Day, 10am – 12, St Neot Satellite Children’s Centre – see poster ->
    • Rector’s Farewell – Social Evening & BBQ, 6pm onwards, £5 a head, Chykest – info & booking form
  • Sunday 13 July:
    • St. Neot & Cardinham Preschool Summer Fayre, St. Neot Pavilion, 11am – 3pm car boots, duck race, BBQ, tombolas, raffle, face painting,  bouncy castle, refreshments and entertainment for the children…
    • St Meubred’s Summer Fete, Cardinham (opposite the church), 2 – 4.30pm – cream teas, cakes, plants, books, tug-of-war, children’s games etc.
  • The Big Do - Saturday 26 July

    The Big Do – Saturday 26 July

    Thurs 17 July, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  Parish and planning sub-committee meeting  info

  • Sat 19 July, 7.30pm: Film Night “Saving Mr Banks“, Cardinham Parish Hall, doors open 7pm, £4
  • Wed 23 July, 7pm: History Club Walk, Fowey  – info
  • Fri 25 July, 7.30pm: Faith Supper to bid farewell to Rector Andrew Balfour, St Neot Institute; bring a plate of food, all welcome (info: Libby 01208 821303)
  • Sat 26 July:  The Big Do in the Field, field opposite Jubilee Hall, Mount, 12 noon – 4.30pm ~  for details of stalls and activities, see latest info – see poster ->

 

August 2014

  • Fri 8 Aug, 7pm: Sankey Evening, Mount Chapel – info
  • Sat 9 August:
    • Duck Race, Pantersbridge (the bridge between Mount and St Neot), 4pm launch. Enjoy a stroll from the bridge to the weir to finish with a BBQ. Children can run, cycle or skate. Limited parking at the weir.  50p per duck.  First prize: £20;   Second prize: £10;   Third prize: £5  –   see report/photos
    •  Loveny Choir, Cardinham Parish Hall, 7pm, Dave Wherry memorial concert
      with Millpool Chorale – £6 per head
  • Kettler Sport 'excellent' Table Tennis Table

    The Hall’s new Table Tennis Table – can be hired privately – or come any Tuesday evening, 7pm onwards when folk can meet up to play

    Sun 10 Aug, starting 10.30 am from the Jubilee Hall:  Rivers of Warleggan Poetry Day info

  • Mon 11 Aug, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall: Hall Management Meeting & review of Big Doinfo
  • Thurs 14 Aug, 7pm for 7.30pm: Fringe Quartet, a comedy with some adult themes by Camhayle Players, £5, Cardinham Parish Hall (details Libby 01208 821303)
  • Sun 17 Aug, 11am: Messy Church, Mount Chapel – info
  • Tues 19 Aug, 7pm onwards: Table Tennis – first meeting – free tonight, all welcome – info
  • Wed 27 Aug, 12 noon:  St Bartholomew’s Day Annual Picnic and Work Party – a chance for us to tidy up at the church at Warleggan – pls bring gardening tools, brooms, secateurs, etc. – more info
  • Sun 31 August:
    • 10.30am onwards: Farm Fun Day, at Trekillick Farm, Bodmin – organised by Warleggan Young Farmers
    • 2 pm onwards: Parish Walk, Cardinham.  Meet at Cardinham Hall 2pm for a guided walk in the parish   – approx one and a half hours, leisurely pace; we finish at the hall for tea and cake.  Free event or donation for tea.

 

September 2014

  • Wed 3 Sept, 7.30 pm:  Parish Meeting and meeting of planning sub-committee –  info
  • Saturday 6 September:
    • 2-4pm: Church Garden Party at Old School House, Mount  – Cream Teas / Bring & Buy / Raffle / etc.
    • 3.30pm: Cardinham Flower & Vegetable Showinfo*
  • Fri 12th Sept, 7.30pm: Reading Room AGM, all welcome  – at reading room
  • Wed 17th Sept, 6.30pm: Walk around St Cleer Village – with history group – info
  • Wed 24 Sept, 12.30pm: Parish Lunchinfo
  • Fri 26 Sept, 7.30 pm: Evening of music, Cardinham Hall, doors open at 7. Music from Millpool Chorale, Rock Choir & 4 Sax Sake. Tickets £5 incl. cheese & biscuits and glass of wine.
  • Sun 28 Sept, 11am:  Messy Chapel, everyone, incl those with families, welcome – Mount Chapel

October 2014

  • Thurs 2 Oct, 7.30 pm: Parish Meeting and meeting of planning sub-committee –  info
  • Sat 11 Oct, 7.30 pm:  Film – “Les Miserables”, Cardinham Hall – doors open 7pm; film starts 7.30pm; cheesy chips, drinks, raffle
  • Sun 12 Oct: Harvest Festival at ChapelMessy Chapel at 11 am with Rev R Saunders; then evening service at 6 pm with Rev A Hill –  info
  • Mon 13 Oct, 7.15 pm:  Mount Chapel Harvest Festival Service followed by Sale of Gifts with Rev R Saunders –  info
  • Wed 15 Oct, 7.30 pm: Hall Management Committee Meetinginfo
  • Sat 18 Oct, 11 am:  Paintings of Roger Farnworth, Camelford Gallery – private viewing with wine, all locals welcome this day 11 am to 3 pm.  Exhibition continues daily until 31 Oct, 10.30 – 5.30, closed Sundays – info
  • Mon 20 Oct, 7.30 pm: Talk by John Notley on “Weather & Climate Change”, Cardinham Hall, organised by Cardinham Gardening Club
  • Wed 22 Oct, 7 pm: Cornwall Council budget – have your say – Bodmin Community network meeting, Bodmin Town Council Shire Suite, Mount Folly Square, Bodmin, Cornwall PL31 2DQ – info*
  • Fri 24 Oct, 7.30 pm: Carn to Cove, “The Salt Roads”  – an evening of stories music and song with a Cornish flavour – info
  • Wed 29 Oct, 7.30 pm: History Club Talk: Cornwall Audio Visual Archive info
  • Friday 31 October:
    • 6pm: Halloween, children’s trick or treat & disco
    • 7 pm: Beetle and Bingo, Halloween themed, all ages welcome, Cardinham Hall 

November 2014

  • Fri 7 Nov, 7 pm:  Skittles Evening  –  licensed bar, food, tea, coffee and soft drinks to be available – £5 per team of four – call Jasmina 01208 821223 or Chris on 821409 to book your team
    –  see photos previous skittles evenings: Feb 2014 and  Sept 2013
  • Sat 8 Nov, 7.30 pm:  Fish & Chip Quiz, Cardinham Hall – £7.50 please book with Julie 01208 821227
  • Sun 9 Nov, 2.30 pm: Remembrance Day – at the war memorial, Mount
  • Mon 10 November:
    • Warleggan Young Farmers’ New Members Evening, 7.30pm Jubilee Hall – Anyone and Everyone welcome  – info
    • Talk by John Mann on “Pruning”, 7.30 pm, Cardinham Hall, organised by Cardinham Gardening Club*
  • Sat 15 Nov, 10 am – 1.30 pm: Book & Craft Fair, Cardinham Hall, morning coffee and light lunches also to be served
  • Wed 19 Nov, 7.30pm: Parish Meeting and meeting of planning sub-committee –  info
  • Wed 26 Nov, 12.30pm: Parish Lunchinfo
  • Thurs 27 Nov, 7.30 pm:  Hall Management Committee Meeting info
  • Sat 29 Nov, 10 am – 12 noon:  Advent Bazaar, Jubilee Hall – pasties, cakes, coffee/tea, bring and buy, etc.  – see church schedule

 

December 2014

  • all welcome

    all welcome

    Wed 3 Dec, 7.30 pm: “Cornwall and the Battle of the Atlantic: The Loss of U-564, 14 June 1943″  a History Group talk by Professor Harry Bennett, Naval Historian at the University of Plymouth  – info

  • Friday 5 December:
    • 2pm – 5pm, Cardinham Hall: Cardinham School Christmas Fayre – cake stall, children’s craft stall, tombola, face painting etc., with musical entertainment and school choir – Adults: £1 (incl tea/coffee & mince pie); children free – to book table (£5) call 821236
    • 7.30 pm, Jubilee Hall, Mount: Fireside Tales some of our long-standing residents give personal insights on how life has changed in the parish over the decades – £3 per person (primary age and under free) – pasties, tea/coffee, and licensed bar  info
  • Sat 6 Dec, 10 am – 12.30  – Christmas Bazaar at the chapel in Mount –  cakes, pasties, tea/coffee, bric-a-brac, etc.
  • Tues 9 Dec, 7 pm: Parish United Carol Service, St Batholomew Church, Warleggan
  • Wed 10 Dec, 12.30pm: Gardening Club Christmas Lunch, Lost Gardens of Heligan –  info*
  • chapel carols dec2014Saturday 13 December:
    • 1.30 pm – 3.30 pm: Children’s Christmas Party
        contact Tam 821982 for details
    • 7.30 pm, Cardinham Hall: Bodmin Town Band Christmas Concert, joined by Cardinham School musicians and choir  – tickets at door – £4 for Adults (under 12 year olds free) includes mince pie and hot drink.
  • Sunday 14 December, early afternoon: Santa’s Sleigh in Mount & Warlegganinfo
  • Sun 21 Dec, 6 pm: Carol Service, Mount Chapel, followed by mince pies
  • Wed 24 Dec, 6.30 pm: Candlelit Service, St Batholomew Church, Warleggan, followed by mince pies, mulled wine, coffee etc. at Chykest

 

Advertisements

COMMENTS - write your comment here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: