Archive events 2013

December 2013

  • A great way to end the yearTues 3 Dec, 1.30pm:  Cardinham School Christingle Service, Cardinham Church
  • Sat 7 Dec:
    • 11am – 2pm:  Cardinham School’s Christmas Craft Fair, Jubilee Hall, with numerous craft stalls, tea, coffee, mulled wine & mince pies;  home made organic light lunches will also be served  – and great raffle prizes – see poster ->
    • 11am: East Cornwall Hunt Lawn Meet, Tor House Warleggan
  • Sun 8 Dec, 3 – 6pm: Celebrating 70 years of Marriage, Barbara & Cyril K, Jubilee Hall – details in November newsletter
  • Tues 10 Dec:
    • 1.30pm and 6.30pm: Cardinham School Christmas Play, Cardinham Village Hall
    • 7pm,  Mount Chapel:   United Parish Carol Service, followed by mince pies, tea/coffee, all welcomeinfo
  • Thurs 12 Dec, 7.30pm: Parish meeting and planning sub-committee meeting, Jubilee Hall  – details
  • Sat 14 Dec:
    • 10am – 12.30pm, Mount Chapel:  Chapel Annual Bazaar, with cakes, pasties, tea/coffee, bric-a-brac on  sale info
    • 4.30 – 6.30pm: Children’s Christmas Party, Jubilee Hall  –  info
  • Sun 15 Dec, 2.30pm onwards: Santa’s Sleigh, coming to Cardinham, Millpool, Mount, Warleggan, St Neot – organised by Young Farmers
  • Sun 22 Dec, 6pm:  Mount Chapel Carol Serviceinfo
  • Tues 24 Dec,  6.30pm: Carols by Candlelight, St Bartholomew Church, Warleggan, followed by mince pies and mulled wine at Chykest – info
  • Tues 31 Dec, 8pm til after midnight:  New Year’s Eve Ceilidh, with Choughed to Bits*  providing live music and, thankfully, guidance on how to do the dances – dance your way into the New Year –  a great evening for the whole family, children very welcome;  there’ll be soft drinks and a licenced bar;  can we each bring a plate of food to eat and/or share.  Adults £5.00 / Children £3.00 / under 4 free

November 2013

  • Fri 1 Nov:  Village Greens is CLOSED just for today –  info
  • Sat 9 Nov, 10.30am – 1.30pm: Book Sale and Craft Fair, Cardinham Parish Hall, for St Meubred’s Church –  books, crafts, coffee and cakes, light lunches, raffle
  • Sun 10 Nov, 2.30pm:  Act of Remembrance, War Memorial, Mount
  • Sat 16 Nov, 7pm for 7.30pm:  Cardinham film night – “Song for Marion”, Cardinham Parish Hall
  • Tues 19 Nov, 7.30pm:  Hall Committee Meeting, Jubilee Hall – info
  • Thurs 21 Nov, 7.30pm:  Parish Meeting, Jubilee Hall – to set next year’s parish precept;  and planning  – info
  • Sat 23 Nov, 10am – 1pm: Philippines Disaster – Parish Fundraising Sale, Jubilee Hall – all proceeds to go for a Shelter Box – food stall, bric-a-brac, pasties, teas, coffees, raffle – see our new Super Typhoon page for more details
  • Mon 25 Nov, 6pm – 7pm:  Decorating the Hall for Christmas ~  all welcome ~ see our Hall Events page
  • Tues 26 Nov, 12.30pm:  Lunch Club, £4 a head, two course lunch with tea/coffee to follow, Jubilee Hall  – all welcome, but you MUST book in advance –  call Jasmina 01208 821223
  • Wed 27 Nov,  7.30pm, Cott Yard, St Neot: Warleggan History Club visit to Cott Yard archivesinfo
  • Sat 30 Nov, 10am – 12 noon:  Church Advent Bazaar, Jubilee Hall –  pasties, tea, coffee, cakes, bric-a-brac, etc., in aid of St Bartholomew’s Church
  • Sat 30 Nov: Christmas shopping Coach trip to Exeter, departs Cardinham parish hall 9.30am, arrives back approx 5.30pm, organised by Cardinham Bellringers  – must book well in advance – 01208 821382

October 2013

  • Wed 2 Oct, 7.30pm:  Jubilee Hall Management Committee meetinginfo
  • Wed 9 Oct, 7pm:  Rededication of the restored organ War Memorial, followed by Organ Recital, St Bartholomew’s Church Warleggan – see details
  • Mon 14 Oct, 7.30pm: Talk: “Feeding the Family” with speaker Andrew Lane, Jubilee Hall, organised by Cardinham Gardening Club*
  • Mon 14 Oct, 7.15pm: Chapel harvest festival auction and supper, Mount Chapel –  see details
  • Fri 18 Oct, 7.30pm:   Games evening, Jubilee Hall  –  a range of table top games – why not bring along your favourite game? Licensed bar, refreshments –   see details
  • Sat 19 Oct, 7.30pm for 8pm:  Auction of Promises, The Old Inn, St Breward, in aid of Parkinson’s UK;  list of promises will be available from 7th October at Blisland and St Breward stores – or check out the list on their facebook page*
  • Wed 23 Oct, 7.30pm:  History Club Talk on the Pentewan Valley Railway (The Tea Treat Train) by Rob Evans, Jubilee Hall
  • Sat 26 Oct, 7pm: Fish and Chip Quiz, Cardinham Parish Hall, £7.50 incl fish&chips, book by 21st Oct with Julie 821227
  • Sun 27 Oct, 11am, Jubilee Hall:  Roger Farnworth’s  Day –  see Roger’s Day

September 2013

  • snip hall-lunch-sept2013Sat 7 Sept,  from 3.30pm: Cardinham Flower and Veg Show, Cardinham Parish Hall info*
  • Thurs 12 Sept, 7.30pm:  Meeting to discuss the Neighbourhood Plan idea, and Warleggan’s possible involvement in it – info
  • Fri 13 Sept:  Skittles evening, Jubilee Hall, £5 per team of four ~ there’ll be refreshments and we aim to have a licensed bar for the evening – info
  • Sat 21 Sept, 7 for 7.30pm:  Cardinham Film Night: ‘Summer in February’, Cardinham Parish Hall, £4
  • Tues 24 Sept, 12.30pm:  Lunch event, Jubilee Hall, £4 a head (seats to be booked in advance ~ call Jasmina 01208 821223) ~ hopefully to be the first of many such lunches!
  • Wed  25 Sept, 6.30pm: Walk to Jubilee Rock, Blisland, organised by History Club –  info
  • Sat 28 Sept, 7.30pm: Cardinham School Reunion, at London Inn*, St Neot, where you can book your meal, 01579 326756

August 2013

  • Sat 3 Aug, 5pm onwards: St Neot Carnival –  more info*
  • Sat 10 Aug, 2pm: St Neot WI Flower Show, St Neot Village Hall  – more info*
  • Tues 13 Aug, 7.30pm:  Jubilee Hall Management Committee Meetingmore info
  • Fri 16 Aug, 7pm, Mount Chapel: A Sankey Evening, with Kevin Grant, soloist Mrs Marion Dunnicliff – supper to follow more info
  • Sat 17 Aug, 3.30pm: Afternoon Tea at the Cardinham Ritz, Cardinham Parish Hall, organised by St Meubred’s Church
  • Tues 20 Aug, 12:30pm: Picnic and Church Tidy Up – bring a picnic, gardening tools etc for this tidy up prior to St Bartholomew’s Day
  • Wed 21 Aug, 7pm, Cabilla Manor: Waiting for Godot, by Miracle Theatre, in aid of Merlin Project – tickets 01208 821224 – info*
  • 23-26 Aug: St Neot Flower and Art Festival
  • Fri 30 Aug:  (note that Village Greens will be closed for this day) – info
  • Sat 31 Aug, 2 – 4pm:  Church Fete, with cream teas, cake, bring & buy, bric-a-brac, raffle, etc. at Old School House next to Jubilee Hall, Mount (or in the Hall if wet)

July 2013

  • Mon 1 July, daytime:  Road to be repaired in Mount – to help them make a good job of it, we’ve been asked to make road clear of cars
  • Mon 1 July, 6.30pm:  History Club walk to old barns in Trengoffe (near Pantersbridge)more info
  • Fri 12 July, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  Fireside Tales ~ to hear from Susie Hansen about life and events on the Falkland Islands   ~ £3 for adults, children under 11 free
  • Sat 27 July:  Warleggan’s Big Do in the Field, fun and flower show – more info

June 2013

  • Sat 1 June,  4-6pm:  Cardinham Hall Fete & BBQ, Cardinham Village Hall
  • Thurs 6 – Sat 8 June:  Royal Cornwall Show, Wadebridge – show website*
  • Tues 11 June, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  Open meeting, everyone welcome, to discuss Ocean Housing’s plans for affordable housing in field adjoining Rosevean, in Mount
  • Wed 12 June, 7.30pm:  Jubilee Hall Management Committee meeting – all welcome
  • Fri-Sun 14-16 June:  Gardening Club Coach Trip, Somerset Gardensmore info*
  • Sat 15 June, 7.30pm: Blisland Hall: Mike Bernstein & Colin Stevens, musical entertainers well known for their Flanders and Swann song (see M&WL newsletter, May 2013), in aid of Helland Church – bookings 01208 75691 – SOLD OUT
  • Sun 16 June, 7pm: Summer’s Evening of Music & Song with Millpool Chorale, St Meubred’s Church, Cardinham, in aid of CRY*
  • Sun 23 June, 2 – 4.30pm: St Meubred’s Summer Fete, Cardinham Hall & grounds

May 2013

  • Thurs 2 May, 7am – 10pm:  Local Elections
  • Thurs 9 May, 7.30pm:  Reading Room Meeting –  all those using  and/or interested in using the reading room welcome
  • Sat 11 May, 7pm for 7.30pm screening:  Film Night: The Quartet  – tickets £4, Cardinham Village Hall –  cheesy chips, choc ices, soft drinks, raffle
  • Wed 15 May:  Gardening Club visit to Lamorna details*
  • Sat 18 May, 10am – 12.30 :  Plant sale, with cakes, refreshments, etc.  – Jubilee Hall, in aid of Mount Chapel
  • Sat 18 May, 8pm:  Johnny Cowling, Cardinham Village Hall –  tickets £12 –  Julie, 821227, entry price includes pasty;  bring own drinks
  • Wed 22 May, 6pm:  History Club’s guided walk, Pentewan details
  • Wed 29 May, 5.45pm:  Oak Apple Day, St Neot – details*
  • Fri 31 May, 7.30pm:  Bach Pilgrimage –  with violinist Thomas Bowes –  a Carn to Cove production, great music and poetry, at St Bartholomew Church, Warleggan – full details, tickets, etc.

April 2013

  • Fri 5 April, 7pm, Reading Room:  Reading Room AGM  – seeking new committee members and to discuss future plans for the Reading Room (next to Mount crossroads) – more information
  • Wed 10 April, 2pm:  Gardening Club visit to Japanese Garden in St Mawgan – details
  • Fri 12 April:  Deadline for submission of election candidates’ names for Warleggan Planning Sub-Committee (in preparation for Parish AGM 16 April)  more information
  • Sat 13 April, 10am: Craft and Table Top Fair, St Neot Village Hall
  • Tues 16 April, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:  Parish Meeting Annual General Meeting, with voting for all positions including the Planning Sub-Committee more information
  • Tues 23 April, 7.30pm:  Hall Management Committee Meeting
  • Sat 27 April, 9am – 12: St Neot Plant Sale, with local plants, refreshments, raffle  – on St Neot Playing Field – in aid of St Neot Scouts Group
  • Sat 27 April, 7pm:  Quiz and Chilli Evening  – Cardinham Village Hall, £6 per person – in aid of Cardinham Sports Club  – bring yr own bottles  – booking essential (call 01208 821591)

March 2013

  • Fri 1 March, 7pm:  Reception to celebrate Launch  of the Newly Improved Jubilee Hall  –  see report and photos
  • Tues 12 March, 7.30pm:  Warleggan Parish meeting  and planning subcommittee meeting  – more info
  • Sat 16 March, 10.30am – 1pm:  Cardinham spring book-fair and coffee morning, Cardinham Parish Hall, in aid of St Meubred’s Church
  • Sat 16 March, 7pm:  Film Evening:  Salmon Fishing in the Yemen, Cardinham Parish Hall, with raffle, cheesy chips, choc ices, drinks – admission £4;  film starts 7.30pm
  • Sun 24 March, 8pm, Wadebridge Regal Cinema: Local Interest Film – The Congregation of Ghosts, based on the story of the Reverend Frederick Densham  – film director Mark Collicott will be there to answer questions, and actress Michele Dotrice will be attending the screening of the film,  which starred her late husband Edward Woodward 
  • Wed 27 March, 7.30pm, Jubilee Hall:   The Robartes Family & Lanhydrock  ~  1614 – 1974   ~  The Rise & Decline of a Cornish Family & its Estate  –  all welcome, organised by History Club
  • Fri 29 March, 7.15pm, Good Friday, Mount Chapel:  Anniversary Sacred Concert featuring John & Rosemary Heard and the Millpool Chorale – followed by supper

February 2013

  • Fri 8 Feb, 7.30pm:  Carn to Cove production – A Love Like Salt, by the Devil’s Violin Company – Jubilee Hall  –  tickets  £8 full ~ £6 concession/child ~ £22 family  – Check out the reviews.
  • Sat 16 Feb, 7pm:  Beetle Drive & Bingo, fun for the family, Cardinham Parish Hall
  • Tues 19 Feb, 7.30pm:  Parish Meeting, incl. meeting of Parish Planning Sub-Committee (regarding Rivermead) –  Jubilee Hall, all welcome –  more info
  • Wed 20 – Sat 23 Feb, 7.30pm: St Neot panto ‘Pantohontis’, St Neot Village Hall, info and tickets from Julie 01579 321050 – Wed-Fri £5 (£2.50 children); Sat matinee 2.30 £4 (£1 children); Sat evening all tickets £6.50 –  info (Facebook page)
  • Tues 26 Feb, 7.30pm:  Jubilee Hall Committee AGM – Jubilee Hall, all welcome – more info
  • Wed 27 Feb, 7.30pm:  The Manor Mill of Warleggan, presented by Lynda Small, Jubilee Hall, all welcome – organised by History Club

January 2013

  • Tues 1st January 2013 – History Club’s New Year Day Walk, Luxulyan Valley –  infophotos
  • Fri 11 Jan, 7.30pm:  Pasty and Quiz Night, Millpool Chapel, £3 per person  – come alone, with friends or in teams of four
  • Wed 23 Jan, 7.30pm:  Hall Meeting, to discuss ideas and arrangements for use of the Jubilee Hall – more info
  • Fri 25 Jan, 7am onwards:  Farmhouse Breakfast – Village Greens opening specially early for a special breakfast to celebrate Farmhouse Breakfast Week  – all welcome more info
  • Sat 26th Jan, 7pm, Cardinham Village Hall:  CANCELLED Film Night: Walk the Line, a chronicle of the life of country music legend Johnny Cash  CANCELLED
  • Mon 28 Jan: Warleggan on TV? –  as it  turns out, Warleggan did feature on “Cornwall with Caroline Quentin” more info
Advertisements

COMMENTS - write your comment here

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: